Department of Psychiatry

Behavioral Medicine - Leadership and Faculty

Division Chief Alan Peterson, PhD, ABPP, joined UT Health San Antonio in 2005, after retiring from active duty as a U.S. Air Force psychologist at the rank of lieutenant colonel. During his military career, in work that focused both on clinical care and research, he saw first-hand the need for improved prevention, diagnosis and treatment for the psychological wounds that combat veterans suffer. He therefore brought to the university a strong focus on the application of clinical health psychology and related research to military health issues, and he has recruited outstanding faculty who share this expertise.

Before joining UT Health San Antonio, Dr. Peterson served as director of the Clinical Health Psychology Service at the Air Force’s Wilford Hall Medical Center in San Antonio (today known as Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center). He also directed Wilford Hall’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program in Clinical Health Psychology, the first postdoctoral fellowship training program to receive specialty accreditation from the American Psychological Association. Several faculty members of the Division of Behavioral Medicine trained there under Dr. Peterson’s guidance.

Alphabetical listing of Division of Behavioral Medicine faculty: