Department of Psychiatry

Biological Psychiatry Analytical Laboratory


Javors Lab The mission of the Biological Psychiatry Laboratory is to provide accurate and timely analytical and pharmacological services and collaboration with investigators in the mental health and addiction science research areas.


Martin Javors, PhD, is the Director of the lab.
Laboratory staff include:
Nathalie Hill-Kapturczak, PhD (Assistant Professor)
Jesse Sanchez (Research Associate-Senior)
Greg Friesenhahn (Research Associate-Senior)
David Galindo (Research Associate)


Lab Phone: (210) 567-5410
Dr. Javors Phone: (210) 567-5532
Lab Fax: (210) 567-6471

Biological Psychiatry Analytical Lab
Department of Psychiatry-750E
University of Texas Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, Texas 78229


The Biological Psychiatry Analytical Lab does not include a clinical component at this time. However, the measurements provided by the lab for research studies are currently used in some clinical settings.


The BPL collaborates with many investigators at UTHSC-SA and also at other institutions as part of clinical and basic science research studies.  Here is a partial list.

Bryon Adinoff, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Robert Anthenelli, University of Cincinnati
Charles Bowden, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Don Dougherty, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Elizabeth Fernandez, Barshop Center, Dept. of Pharmacology, UTHSCSA
Brett Ginsburg, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Bankole Johnson, Dept. of Psychiatry Medicine, University of Virginia
Wouter Koek, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Rick Lamb, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA

Deb Mangold, University of Texas-San Antonio
Paul Marques, University of Maryland
Lance McMahon, Dept. of Pharmacology, UTHSCSA
Alec Miller, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Uma Rao, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
John Roache, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Arlan Richardson, Barshop Center, Dept. of Physiology, UTHSCSASA
Dave Sharp, Dept. of Molecular Medicine, UTHSCSA
Steve Stern, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
Randy Strong, Barshop Center, Dept. of Pharmacology, UTHSCSA
Alan Swann, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSC-Houston
Jennifer Thomas, Medical University of South Carolina
Dawn Velligan, Dept. of Psychiatry, UTHSCSA
David Weinshenker, Emory University Medical School
Top of Page