Department of Psychiatry



A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Talley, Brenda J. MD

School of Medicine
(210) 567-0085

Brenda J. Talley, M.D. is an Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Dr. Talley completed her medical school, psychiatry residency, and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship at the University of Texas of Health Science Center. Dr. Talley is board certified in General Psychiatry, Psychosomatic Medicine, as well as Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and is a fellow in the American Psychiatric Society. She was selected for the Mary Avis Weir Endowed Chair in Psychiatry. Dr. Talley serves as the Director of Psychiatric Undergraduate Medical Education. She is actively involved in the training of the next-generation of psychiatrists through her teaching and supervision of medical students and psychiatry residents. In addition, Dr. Talley was the Course Director for Psychopathology which was part of the curriculum for second year medical students. The curriculum included a web-based program created by Dr. Talley to develop psychiatric interviewing skills. The medical school transitioned recently to a new, integrated curriculum. Part of the transition included the integration of Psychopathology, Neurology, and Neuroanatomy into one consolidated second year medical school course called Mind, Brain, Behavior. Dr.Talley is one of the Course Co-Directors. The course includes various innovative educational methods including team-based learning, small group interviews with actual and standardized patients, audience response systems, and use of WIKI-a computer based student/faculty interactive program utilized in the classroom.In addition, Dr. Talley is the Clerkship Director for third year medical students. This curriculum provides core clinical experience for all medical students at the UTHSCSA. Furthermore, Dr. Talley developed and implemented the Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship Program which received ACGME approval in November 2008. She is a member of several professional organizations both locally and nationally. She chairs the Adjunct Faculty Review committee and is a member of the UTHSCSA Medical School Curriculum Committee, Medical School Curriculum Evaluation Subcommittee, as well as the Clerkship Directors Committee. In addition, Dr. Talley is member of the, the Association for Academic Psychiatry, and the Association for Directors of Medical Education in Psychiatry.. Dr. Talley is also a member of the Committee for the Advancement of Women and Minorities. She was also a member of the Clinical Education Reform Task Force, a committee selected by the Dean to analyze and implement changes for the Medical School Curriculum. She has received several educational awards that recognize her dedication to the consultation-liaison service as well as psychiatry residents and medical students. Dr. Talley was chosen as an Outstanding Faculty member. In 2007 she received the Barbara Sanford Memorial Award for Teaching and Excellence in Medical Education. In addition, Dr. Talley developed an out-patient psycho-oncology clinic in collaboration with the Cancer Treatment and Research Center (CTRC) where she provided comprehensive psychiatric services to patients diagnosed with cancer. She is active state wise with a grant project where she works in association with other medical school clerkship directors in adding team-based learning activities to the clerkship curriculum that transition the students from DSM IV to DSM V. She is active nationally, where she chairs the ADMSEP ( Association of Directors in Medical Student Education in Psychiatry) Awards Committee. She is also a member of the Clerkship Objectives Committee of the same organization.

7/2012 - Present Director, Undergraduate Medical Education University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Psychiatry, San Antonio, TX
9/2011 - Present Associate Professor and Associate Professor of Medicine UTHSCSA, San Antonio, TX
10/2010 - Present Mary Avis Weir Endowed Chair in Psychiatry University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Psychiatry, San Antonio, TX

Return to directory listing